Dabbling

There are a lot of things in life that I am not very good at. But, that doesn’t stop me from enjoying them.

I think it’s important to have hobbies that you aren’t particularly good at. We can dabble in things without fully committing. I think a lot of people don’t try new things because they don’t know if they’ll like them, or they don’t feel like they fit in with the other people that do the thing. Maybe they don’t have friends that do it, maybe they don’t have the equipment, maybe they think they don’t have the time. Or, they already have their “thing” and don’t think they need another.

See, I love playing my ukulele. It makes me happy. And I’m not very good at it. I enjoy being able to pick it up when I feel like it, however often that may be. I like to sing off-key to my favourite songs and attempt the strum along. But I’ll never really be a musician.

There’s this idea that in order to “properly” like something, you must fully immerse yourself in it. But what if you just like looking at the stars, even though you can’t name very many constellations, even though you don’t know much about the planets? What if you love the way music makes you feel, but can’t pinpoint genres or chord progressions? What if you think snowboarding is fun but can’t name a single professional snowboarder? Are you a poser? I know that I’ll never be an amazing snowboarder – not because I don’t have the potential, but because it’s not a priority for me. I just like it! That’s all!

Like I’ve said before, you don’t have to be the best at everything. It’s OK to suck at things! If you enjoy yourself regardless, keep doing it!

Try new things. Not everything has to become a passion or a career for you, you can simply enjoy things. Take a pottery class with no expectation of yourself to be amazing at it. It can be intimidating to enter a world that you don’t think you fit into, but everyone was a beginner at one point. And if it helps you get out the door, tell yourself that you don’t need these surf bums to accept you, because you don’t want to be a surf bum, anyways. You just want to surf.

If you don’t think your life is interesting, try taking an interest in your life. Dabble. Go snowboarding. Fall every 5 metres, and leave the hill smiling at the end of the day.

Xo, Rachel

 

Leave a Reply

