Human

My life is incomparable
To sunsets over Manhattan skylines
Or fine china
Or the sound of a harp

My life feels like
That old t-shirt
That has too many holes to wear anymore –
The one that’s falling apart

I neglect my emotions
Like the lettuce in my fridge that’s
Wilting away.
Uncomfortable
like shoes full of sand.

I am human.
I am crumbs on the carpet,
Forgetting to floss,
Working shitty jobs to get by,
Plain toast for breakfast,
Horrible internet connections,
And broken guitar strings.

I am not hotel rooms,
Nor am I a home.
I am not fancy dresses or neon lights.

I am rushing,
Sweating,
Hiccuping,
Human.

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

