This Year In Music

Sorry I’ve been M.I.A. but let’s just get on with it

I have no set number of albums I am going to talk about, and there’s going to be no order to this list, I just wanted to make it for myself, for the future.

The Maine – American Candy
Favourite song: (Un)lost | Because I thought I was lost and blue but I’m not, I’m fine. And my favourite band always reminds me of that.

One Direction – Made In The A.M.
Favourite song: A.M. | Because it’s One Direction and it was incredibly relevant to how my life was going.

Ben Rector – Brand New
Favourite song: Fear | Because I wish I could get over my fears.

Jamie McDell – Ask Me Anything
Favourite song: Back Of My Mind | I don’t know why. I started so many summer days playing this song while I got dressed.

Twenty One Pilots – Blurryface
Favourite song: The Judge | Because it’s beautiful. Because I walked through the woods screaming it at the top of my lungs a few months ago and I still think about it all the time.

Deaf Havana – Old Souls
Favourite song: Everybody’s Dancing And I Want To Die | Because I found this album way late but every song seemed to hit home, especially this one, which was also the first song I heard by this band sometime in January.

5 Seconds of Summer – Sounds Good Feels Good
Favourite song: Outer Space/Carry On | Because it makes me feel like there’s something more, like I have time. Like I can keep going.

Neck Deep – Life’s Not Out To Get You
Favourite song: Gold Steps | Because this year was about growth and I need to recognise just how much I’ve accomplished.

Paradise Fears – Life In Real Time
Favourite song: Talk About It | Because I could have written it. I had it on repeat for a whole 4 days after it was released, I felt like I understood my own thoughts finally.

Marianas Trench – Astoria
Favourite song: Burning Up | Because it is the most fun song I’ve heard in a long time. And I can’t help but smile when I hear it.

Halsey – Badlands
Favourite song: Gasoline | Because it makes me feel badass, and I’m totally not badass.

Oh Wonder – Oh Wonder
Favourite song: Drive | Because, like a lot of the songs on this list, it said things I didn’t know how to say.

Shawn Mendes – Handwritten
Favourite song: Never Be Alone | Because I saw him with my two sisters and we all kinda cried when he played this one. Because I miss my sisters, because I know that I’m not alone.

So yeah. This year was more about standout songs than albums, honestly. Although I do really love every song on each of these albums and they meant a lot to me at some point this year.

Other notable albums include Smoke + Mirrors by Imagine Dragons (It Comes Back To You), Hello by Hedley (Very First Time), Around The World And Back by State Champs (Secrets), Back On Top by The Front Bottoms (HELP), and Every Open Eye by CHVRCHES (Empty Threat).

I made playlists of my favourite songs from each month in 2015, and if you’re interested, you can find them here

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

