THIS WEEK IN MUSIC: 07/05/15

My last post before I fly across the country!

  • Mumford & Sons – Wilder Mind
    I saw a lot of backlash following the first single, something along the lines of “where’s the banjo?”, but I’ve always (mostly) welcomed change in sound, so I dig this almost indie rock/pop album. I’m not too picky, though.
  • Best Coast – California Nights
    There’s just something about her voice that is comforting and haunting at the same time. I think this album would be fully appreciated if listened to while driving around California (or wherever you are) on a summer night.
  • Twenty One Pilots – Lane Boy
    I think we were all waiting for a song like this, to address people that call Twenty One Pilots out for not sticking to one genre. It should be a good thing that they don’t limit themselves – music isn’t really supposed to always be carefully planned. I don’t think a song can ever not “suit” a band, because the band is playing it and they wrote it and therefore, it is part of the “kind” of music they play. Ya know? Haterz can stay in their lane, boy.

I’ll mention that Lucy Spraggan also released an album this week but as I’m not in the UK, I can’t find it anywhere.

Weekly playlist | Monthly playlist | Spring playlist

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

