THIS WEEK IN MUSIC: 09/04/15

Another pretty bangin’ week tbh

  • All Time Low – Future Hearts
    I posted a mini song-by-song review on Twitter after my first listen, and upon listening a few more times I officially like the album. It feels like they are maybe holding back a bit (just like, not as loud and full of emotion as it could be. a bit flat). Despite that, I think it’s worth a listen and considering that they were tentative to even make this album, it’s a success.
    Must hear: Missing You, Don’t You Go, Bail Me Out
  • Twenty One Pilots – Tear In My Heart
    This song is SO upbeat and I have been listening to it SO MUCH this week. It’s like, major character development on Tyler’s part and I’m so happy he wrote a happy song because he’s happy and everything is good.
  • The Janoskians – Friend Zone
    Ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, I know. A whiny boy singin’ about being in the friend zone. I’ve said before that I don’t really stand by The Janoskians in terms of the messages they put out in their songs but they’re so fricking catchy and fun to listen to. I’m the worst.
  • The Technicolors – Ultraviolet Disguise
    Funky. Excited to see them on tour with The Maine in a few weeks.
  • Matt & Kim – New Glow
    Fun, pop music. I’m always down for that.
  • The Mountain Goats – Beat the Champ
    I like it. Sounds a lot like that of Postal Service and Death Cab For Cutie etc. etc. which is good in my books. Good for this rainy Thursday.
  • Death Cab For Cutie – Kintsugi
    I did not feel the overwhelming excitement that a lot of people felt for this album (mostly because I never really got into Death Cab when it was big) but it’s not bad music. It’s actually really good. The hype is justified.

I also wanna mention that I saw Walk The Moon last night and they were stellar. From the smooth transitions between songs to the killer vocals to the light show, it was a great night. So, if they’re coming anywhere near you any time soon, I suggest you consider seeing them play.

And I got through a whole post without describing something as “sunshiney” or “summery”, which is a real step forward for me.

Weekly playlist | Monthly playlist

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

