THIS WEEK IN MUSIC: 05/03/14

  • As It Is – Concrete
    When Zoe London was talking about this band, she said something along the lines of “the world needs this, we haven’t had a good rockish band on the radio since All Time Low/Fall Out Boy/Blink 182 etc.” and I completely agree. They sound kind of like a toned down version of The Wonder Years, just toned down enough to fit on mainstream radio.
  • Carly Rae Jepsen – I Really Like You
    No matter what she does, she’s never gonna put out something that can live up to Call Me Maybe. This is a valiant effort, though.
  • Kelly Clarkson – Piece By Piece
    I don’t think I’ve listened to any of her albums all the way through since Breakaway, to be honest. None of the songs stood out to me (although at times I kept thinking to myself that this is what Demi Lovato might sound like in a few years) but I think that Heartbeat Song and Invincible were good choices as singles. And I’m excited to hear that her next album is going to be country?
  • Rixton – Let The Road
    The first song is a killer acapella (mostly?) number that sounds like an old school Boys II Men track. The rest of the album sounds more modern, good for fans of The Vamps and probably Sam Smith etc etc. The only track that I don’t really stand by is I Like Girls because really, we didn’t need another stupid song like that.
    Must hear: Let The Road, Appreciated, Hotel Ceiling
  • The Janoskians – Would U Love Me EP
    I know this band is heaps problematic and I acknowledge that, but their music is so catchy and fun to listen to. Ugh.
  • Jordin Sparks – Double Tap
    … not a fan.
  • Cody Simpson – New Problems
    I can’t get over how much he’s beginning to sound like John Mayer and I’m really enjoying it.

It’s a new month so I’ve got a new work-in-progress playlist as well as the bits and bobs I’ve mentioned above!

Weekly playlist | Monthly playlist

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

