THIS WEEK IN MUSIC: 26/02/15

La da dee

  • Chase Atlantic – Nostalgia EP
    I’m not sure if I ever posted about their first EP but I fricken loved it and this one is just a nice continuation of the same type of sound. It’s like The 1975 met 5 Seconds of Summer and they were like, “let’s make a really chilled few songs that are pretty catchy and fit every mood and time of day”. Or something like that. After one listen I found myself wanting to get my license so I could drive around the city at night screaming the chorus of Roxanne. But that’s just me.
  • Nate Ruess – Nothing Without Love
    I don’t know how every single endeavour that the members of Fun. come out with is so good, but it’s the truth. Last year we got Bleachers and it looks like this year will be dominated by Nate’s solo album.
  • Patrick Watson – Love Songs For Robots
    Fits in with all of the Ben Howards and Vance Joys that are getting to be mainstream and I’m all for it.
  • Mat Kearney – JUST KIDS
    I’ve written probably 5 little blurbs about this and deleted them all because I still can’t really explain my feelings for this. Going with another one of my terrible comparisons, at times this album is quite like Top 40, sometimes it sounds like a Macklemore with less street cred., sometimes a little R&B, sometimes a bit indie. A bit of everything. If you’ve ever heard anything by Mat Kearney hopefully that makes a bit of sense.
  • Wakey! Wakey! – Salvation
    A little more upbeat than the other stuff I’ve heard from this band, but I’m digging it. And at first I thought I was going to hate I Like You but a few listens in and it’s probably my favourite song. on the album.

As always, I think the music can speak for itself better than I ever could so..

Weekly playlist | Monthly playlist

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

