Timing and Phases

Music affects us in so many different ways every day. It’s easy to forget about it when you’re moving so fast and listening to new things all the time.

But sometimes a piece of music just hits you and sticks. Once in a while, when the timing is right, you can be caught off guard. You get to just drop everything and appreciate it. Maybe it’s because the artist is saying exactly how you feel. Maybe it’s because you’re angry and the music is angry too. Maybe it’s because you were lost and you needed something to pull you back to reality. Maybe it’s just a really freaking good album.

In my life I’ve had a few moments of “I only want to listen to this until everything makes sense again”. These albums, while maybe not often regarded as my favourites, mean a lot to me. Looking back at certain times in my life where I was stuck I can tell you which album was on repeat. And when I get past whatever is going on, I tuck the album away in my mind, to be brought out if I ever need it again.

I can tell you that all of summer in 2011 I was lying on the bed in the spare bedroom at my grandma’s house listening to Simple Plan’s ‘Still Not Getting Any..’ non-stop. The album wasn’t even new, but the place I was in was, and when I found an old radio with a built-in CD player, that was the first album I brought over from my dad’s house to play. It was loud and it was angry when I couldn’t be.

I can tell you that there was an entire week in November of 2012 that I exclusively blasted All Time Low’s ‘Don’t Panic’ on my iPod dock. It was new at the time, and I played it until it was old. While I hid under the covers on my single bed, I was comforted. It was loud and angry when I didn’t know how to be.

I’ll also tell you that the majority of December last year I was listening to The Wonder Years’ ‘The Greatest Generation’ because it made me feel like I wasn’t falling apart. I fell asleep with it playing in my headphones so loud that I couldn’t think. I made it loud and angry because I couldn’t be.

I can’t tell you what gravitated me towards these certain albums other than timing. Because yeah, when one of my favourite bands releases a new album I’ll listen to it loads, but never on repeat. I don’t want to get sick of them.

The angry ones seem to stick out. Probably because I don’t tend to show or express anger very often if at all. I don’t mean to say that I’m some sort of bottled up angry person all the time though. I can think back to second semester of my senior year of high school when The Maine released ‘Forever Halloween’ and it immediately became a part of the happiness of that time. Or even further back to Hilary Duff’s ‘Metamorphosis’ which was probably the first album I ever fell in love with completely on my own.

I normally don’t even realise that I’m going through a phase until it’s over. Or until I’m laying in bed listening to Moose Blood’s ‘I’ll Keep You In Mind From Time To Time’ for the fourth time thinking that I’ve been here before.

As per usual, I’m not sure what the point of this ramble was, but I just hope that every single person has something like Don’t Panic to hold on to in their life. No matter where I am on the spectrum of emotions, if I need it, music will be there. That’s why I’m always listening to new things and going to shows and writing all of these blog posts. Because I love it, and I know that once in a while, I’ll find something really special.

Leave a Reply

