RE: Lewis Watson in concert

This past Thursday evening, I took the trip to Toronto to go see one of my favourites

Actually, before the show I’m not sure I would have classified him as one of my favourites. I do now.

DSCF4488 DSCF4491

If you want some background – Lewis Watson is a singer/songwriter from the UK that recently(ish) put out his first full length album called The Morning. I’m not 100% but I think this may have been the first time he’s been over to Canada – and I’m glad I went.

Further background on just how I found out about him (people always ask how I find new artists), I actually stumbled across him on Tumblr. I think it was somewhere around 2 years ago – again, I could be wrong – but I saw an audio post of him singing his song Bones live, from his free live EP that was out at the time. I probably wouldn’t have listened but the caption said something like “HIS VOICE IS A MIXTURE OF ED SHEERAN AND HARRY STYLES OMG” so of course I was intrigued. It does sound quite like that mix though. After that, I have been buying his EPs steadily.

Back to the present. He played the Mod Club, just him and his pianist/backup singer and it was lovely. It was simple. The bit that stuck out to me the most was just how breathtaking the harmonies were in every song. If you didn’t know better, you’d think that Lewis and Roxanne (aforementioned pianist/backup singer) were a duo. At one point in the show, they went completely unplugged and got what was a particularly shout-y audience to quiet down and listen. I’ve never experienced that. It was such a conversational show, not theatrics or anything, just this guy and his guitar. For the encore, he went into the audience, getting everyone to form a circle around him while he conducted them as his choir. DSCF4502

I’m sure you might be seeing more about this show when I round up my favourite shows of the year, it was just thatincredible. I wasn’t expecting anything, and that could be why I was so pleased with how it all went.

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

