On Being Uninspired

Recently I’ve been so distant in the blogging world, like there’s been a disconnect between my thoughts and what I write down and how I participate. I wanted to dive back into this blogging thing but I fell short. I love putting outfits together and I love fashion blogs/blogging but I haven’t posted an outfit in months. I can assure you this isn’t because I haven’t been dressing up. I just haven’t felt any motivation. Heck, I haven’t even been reading blogs anymore. I have no idea why, but I check my Bloglovin feed so infrequently that I always have upwards of 500 unread posts. I just have no motivation to create. I want to blog, I say I’m gonna blog, but I don’t. Why?

I’ve been doing the segment “This Week In Music” for over a year without missing a week, and it’s beginning to overwhelm me. I know I have no obligation to post anything but I always find myself stressing about finding more and more music to blog about. I find myself barely even consuming songs before I write a mediocre description and move on. Maybe not listening to the songs I’m talking about ever again. I’ve considered taking a break and letting myself breathe – but music never stops being released. (I have no idea how full-time music bloggers do their thing. It sometimes feels like eating a 6 course meal in one bite and then trying to comment on the individual dishes.) Every week I can find at least one thing I really enjoy but that never feels like enough. I can’t help but be propelled forward, always thinking “what’s next?” instead of properly enjoying music like I used to. I don’t know. I’m not gonna stop doing TWIM but I might take it down a notch.

I am gonna try to rekindle my love for the blogging world, because I miss it. I feel like a fake just sending these posts into a void and never looking around to see what else is going on.

See you sooner than later

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

