THIS WEEK IN MUSIC: 25/09/14

I promise I’ll start my homework right after I write this out…

  • Lights – Little Machines
    I think this is a wonderful combination of her previous 2 albums, electric and gritty. It took a few listens for any songs to stick out to me, and sometimes that’s not a bad thing. Up We Go sets the tone for the rest of the album quite well, if you’re asking me. Which I’ll assume you are, if you’re reading this.
    Must hear: Child, Don’t Go Home Without Me, Running With The Boys
  • Alt-J – This Is All Yours
    I had no expectations for this album as I’ve I’d previously heard from the band was Dissolve Me. It’s so indie/British alternative that it hurts. Everything about the album from the cover art to the song titles is so chilled and spring-timey and field of flowers-y and I am all for it.
  • James Bay – The Dark of the Morning EP
    I got hit with second-hand hype about this through YouTubers that I watch whom went to watch the Burberry show at London Fashion Week. He played there and the reaction was so positive that here I am talking about it. Clocks Go Forward is such a cute winter song.
  • Keepsake – As Winter Fades Away
    OK so some of the guys from this band went to my high school¬†and I didn’t know whether I would mention this or not but this EP is pretty cool and angry and it did come out this week and I did download it so. It’ll probably be less weird for you.

That last one is free on BandCamp (and won’t be on the Spotify playlist) by the way. Spotify playlist: here and a weird thing I put on 8tracks: here¬†and as far as I can tell, there wasn’t a free song on iTunes this week??

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

