This Week In Music: 18/09/14

Hey! It’s been a cool week for music!

  • The Madden Brothers – Greetings From California
    I described this project to my friend as “Good Charlotte, but slightly less punk” and I’m sticking to it. Almost like a post-rock, “we’re happy now” type of album. I dig it.
    Must hear: Dear Jane, Jealousy (All Your Friends In Silverlake)
  • The Vamps – Hurricane
    So I guess they’re paving their way into America by doing a song for the movie Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. It’s a cute song and doesn’t sound too far off from their, uh, actual music.
  • Sir Sly – You Haunt Me
    I think I told myself I’d check them out after seeing them open for The 1975 back in May and I finally have. If you like The 1975, here’s a band that sounds similar.
  • Vance Joy – Dream Your Life Away
    I find this man’s voice so calming? And the iTunes free song this week is Mess Is Mine.
    Must hear: Red Eye, Riptide, All I Ever Wanted
  • Brighter Brightest – Arrow EP
    You know when you like a band but you kind of forget because they haven’t released any new music in a very long time? And then when they do you find yourself saying, “yeah. I remember why I like this band” with every new song? That’s this band for me. This isn’t available on Spotify, but you can get it on BandCamp for free!
    Must hear: Strike Gold, Grey Sweater
  • The Janoskians – That’s What She Said
    I’m showcasing this song mostly because it’s their newest but I’ve just fallen head over heels for this ridiculous band(?) this past week. I was so sceptic but I swear they’re worth your time. This Freakin Song is my current favourite, seriously check them out.
  • Kaptan – Way Out
    Andrew from The Scene Aesthetic decided to make this new band and this is the first song and I’m going to classify it as TSA with a more beachy and less acoustic sound.

If you’re reading this and think of something else I should have been listening to, let me know! And as always, the Spotify playlist is here.

Xo, Rachel

Leave a Reply

